Vegan Beignets at Disney World That Taste Great

Beignets!” by HarshLight licensed under CC BY 2.0

There are many exciting things about a trip to Disney World, and for most of us, the food is one of the biggest highlights!  But if you’re a vegan, you may be curious what your options are when it comes to eating tasty beignets.  If this describes you, don’t fret, as I’m going to share with you everything you need to know about finding and buying vegan beignets at Disney World (made all the more popular thanks to the movie “The Princess and the Frog”).

Are Traditional Beignets Vegan?

You may be wondering, since beignets are just fried dough with powdered sugar, are they naturally vegan? The answer is no. Because the traditional Mickey-Shaped beignets at Disney World contain ingredients such as heavy cream and eggs, they are not vegan-friendly. 

Don’t worry, though! Disney World offers an allergy friendly spin on their beignets. The allergy friendly offering is gluten free and does not contain eggs, soy, or dairy, so you can enjoy these while sticking to your vegan lifestyle. All you have to do is ask!

Disney World Beignets at Scat Cat’s Club Café

At Disney World, Scat Cat’s Club-Café is the one and only location where you can find beignets. This quick service dining option is located in the Port Orleans French Quarter resort, right in the front lobby. The café serves snack items and beverages, and you can grab your treats to go. 

Scat Cat’s Club Café is open from 7am-11pm, giving you plenty of options to fit a trip to the resort into your schedule. The Port Orleans French Quarter resort is about 10 minutes from Epcot and Magic Kingdom, so it’s not too far to travel if you’re wanting to try Disney’s beignets. That said, because of the popularity of the beignets, you’ll likely have to wait in line for a bit, so plan accordingly.

A note to Disney fans—Scat Cat’s Club Café does not accept dining plans, so your beignet order will cost you out-of-pocket even if you opted in for a dining plan for your stay. Be sure to budget for this extra expense if you’re planning to give vegan beignets a try!

Vegan Beignets at Scat Cat’s Club Café 

The primary vegan offering for beignets at Scat Cat’s Club Café are their allergy friendly beignets, which are both gluten-free and vegan. If you have any questions when ordering a vegan or other dietary friendly snack, Disney World advises you to ask to speak with one of their Special Diets Trained Cast Members, who should be able to give you all the details about their vegan menu options at Scat Cat Club’s café and elsewhere. 

The vegan versions of Disney’s beignets sadly are not Mickey-shaped, but they are just as delicious. If you’re concerned about cross-contamination, rest assured that the allergy friendly beignets are fried in a separate frier from their counterparts. 

The allergy friendly beignets come in orders of 3 or 6, just like the standard beignets. They are made-to-order, which means you can expect to wait a bit longer for these than for the Mickey-Shaped offerings. It also means that they’ll be steaming hot when you get them, so be sure to give them a minute to cool off before you dig in!

The menu doesn’t list separate pricing for the allergy friendly beignets, and it appears that they run the same price as other beignets. You can get three beignets for $7.49 or six beignets for $10.99. With traditional beignets, this includes dipping sauce, but make sure to double-check when ordering the vegan beignets if you plan to add sauce. 

Vegan Beignet Dipping Sauce Options at Disney World

Beignets at Disney come with your choice of dipping sauce, if you want something more than the standard powdered sugar topping. 

Only one of the three sauce options is vegan, so if you do decide to pair your vegan beignets with a dipping sauce you’ll want to opt for the strawberry sauce. Sadly, the salted caramel and chicory chocolate ganache flavors both contain dairy, making them not suitable for a vegan guest.

With a standard beignet order, you get one dipping sauce included in the price. Additional dipping sauce will cost you $0.99.

Vegan Seasonal and Specialty Beignets at Disney World

Specialty and seasonal beignets aren’t posted on the menu year-round because they change more frequently than your standard offerings. This means it’s a bit more up to chance whether you’ll be able to find specialty or seasonal beignets in a vegan option, but that doesn’t mean it’s impossible!

Specialty beignet flavor offerings change daily at Scat Cat’s Club Café, and some of them, like the raspberry specialty beignet, have been made in allergy-free versions in the past.

If you’re looking for something different from the standard flavor, you’ll want to check in regarding the day’s specials to see whether any of them are vegan. Specialty beignets are priced at $3.99 per beignet, so they’ll cost a bit more than your standard allergy-friendly beignet order if you want more than one. 

Certain seasonal flavors have been made available as a vegan option in the past, as well. Past vegan seasonal flavors have included gingerbread and pumpkin spice. The pumpkin spice beignets have been a menu item as recently as last year.

Do make sure to specify that you want to order the vegan versions of these treats, as the standard versions are not vegan. When available, these seasonal flavors are priced the same as your standard beignets, at $7.49 for three or $10.00 for six.

Vegan Baton Rogue Beignets at Disney World

If you like your sweets a little boozy, you might be wondering whether these “adult” beignets are available as a vegan option. 

Unfortunately, the Baton Rogue Beignets are not available in a vegan version. This is because the options for spiking them are RumChata, Kahlua, and Bailey’s Irish Cream, none of which are vegan-friendly. Therefore, if you’re looking for a vegan beignet, it’s best to stick with the non-alcoholic version. 

Vegan Beignet Sundae at Disney World

Want to enjoy your beignets as a sundae? You can top your vegan beignet order with vegan ice cream and sauce to create a vegan beignet sundae!

This is definitely an order you’ll need to talk through with the folks at the café to make sure they can honor your request, but in the past, Scat Cat’s Club Café has made it happen! There are typically vegan versions of chocolate or vanilla ice cream on offer, so you can get those scooped atop your vegan beignet order. 

Remember, the only sauce that’s vegan is strawberry, so opt for that one or skip the sauce altogether to keep your sundae dairy-free. You’ll want to skip on the whipped cream on top as well, as Scat Cat’s Club Café does not currently offer vegan whipped cream. 

Vegan Beignets at Disneyland

If you’re a West Coast Disney fan, you may be wondering—can I get vegan beignets at Disneyland, as well? 

While Disneyland does serve beignets like Disney World, unfortunately they do not currently have allergy friendly options available. Due to the fact that they contain eggs and heavy cream, the standard Mickey-Shaped beignets offered at Disneyland are not considered vegan-friendly. 

So for now, if you’re a vegan visiting Disneyland you’ll want to opt for other options and save the beignets for your next trip to Disney World! 

Final Thoughts 

If you’re looking for vegan beignets at Disney World, you’ll definitely be able to find them at Scat Cat’s Club Café in the Port Orleans French Quarter Resort. During certain times of year, you’ll even be able to get some of the specialty and seasonal flavors in the vegan versions as well! 

This article was written by Amanda and edited by Michael.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *